“Hamilton” in SF

Last Friday night, I watched “Hamilton” in SF at the Orpheum Theatre, and it was brilliant!!

The show was around three hours, with a 15-minute intermission. I think I cried once or twice, that’s how good it was. Even if it wasn’t the original cast, the National Tour cast executed the musical wonderfully, and honestly, I don’t care that it wasn’t the original cast, because they sang and rapped and danced as well as them.

My rating is definitely a 10/10 for this show, and I strongly urge you to go watch it… like ASAP!!!!

After the show, I met some of the cast members, and I was sooooooooo happy, ahaaahah. I met and talked to Rubén J. Carbajal (John Laurens/Philip Hamilton), Jordan Donica (Marquis de Lafayette/Thomas Jefferson), Joshua Henry (Aaron Burr), Isaiah Johnson (George Washington), Michael Luwoye (Alexander Hamilton), Mathenee Treco (Hercules Mulligan/James Madison), Ryan Alvarado (King George III), Sabrina Imamura (ensemble), and Desmond Nunn (General Lee/ensemble). They were all extremely nice and friendly, and very genuine, solid, people, who weren’t fazed by their status.

Here’s a picture of one of the playbills I got signed by the above:

IMG_5980

And some pictures of the SF show itself:

 

1600x640.Photo2.Ham-9204487f6a.jpg
Michael Luwoye (Hamilton, centre), sings “My Shot” as the ensemble and Rubén Carbajal (John Laurens), Jordan Donica (Lafayette), and Mathenee Treco (Hercules Mulligan) dance around him.
download.jpg
Amber Iman (Peggy Schuyler, yellow dress), looks on as her sister Emmy Raver-Lampman (Angelica Schuyler, pink dress) toasts the bride and groom, and begins her song “Satisfied”.
1600x640.Photo16.Ham-a73fe520fb.jpg
Emmy Raver-Lampman (Angelica Schuyler, front), Solea Pfeiffer (Eliza Schuyler, left), and Amber Iman (Peggy Schuyler, right), sing their collective song “The Schuyler Sisters”.

 

I hope that you find time to check out this musical, too!!! If you can’t, listen to the soundtrack at least, it’s FIRE (“Guns and Ships”, “Cabinet Battle #1”, and “The Schuyler Sisters” are my personal faves).

Leave a Reply

